Skip to content

Why are there jackdaws at Stonehenge?

March 17, 2016

Archaeodeath

IMG_20160306_084437 Me, trilithon and jackdaw

Intro

My life is so successful, I’ve got everything a Prof could ever need,

I’ve got chocolate and REF outputs, and I’ve even got a WordPress blog indeed.

And I know I should be happy, but instead,

there’s a question I can’t get out of my head:

Why are there jackdaws at Stonehenge?

Visiting Stonehenge

For the first time in my life, I combined a brief foray down to Wiltshire with an advanced early morning pre-opening booking to explore inside the stones of Stonehenge.

For the record, I drove a university fleet Vauxhall Astra (a car you can trust). Never mind the car, let’s talk about the henge.

PANO_20160306_082008 Panorama of Stonehenge, with jackdaw perched in plain view

DSC00656 Perched and observing: the jackdaws of Stonehenge

It was a cold, early March Sunday morning. I parked and waited at the visitor centre, showed my ticket and then experienced an empty bus drive to the…

View original post 611 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

